12/06/24

So what have I been up to over the past week:

Well I went and saw the Doncaster pride bus reveal (YAY!! Rainbows)

My girlfriend had her 21st birthday yesterday (Yet she will still make me feel old)

Been working from home which has been a bit of a challenge

Also been dealing with my hay fever because that’s fun (NOT)

What am I looking forward to:

Being back in the office Tomorrow

Sleep because why not (I know I’m lazy)

Tyler’s birthday party weekend (Mainly for the free food and drinks)

 

 

03/06/24

Hey! Happy Pride month everyone! 🏳️‍🌈

As part of the LGBTQ+ Community myself and the beginning of Pride month I (and Tyler) went to York Pride Festival.

Attended the Parade From York Minster to Knavesmire.

Watched some Drag Queens on the Festival stage.

Danced to Abba (because I’m a dancing queen young and sweet only 25)

We had an amazing day and enjoyed spending time with other LGBTQ+ members!🌈

 

 

30/05/24

Hey, I’m Sheridan (Shez) and this is my new blog page for Stride.

Here, I will talk about my experiences in employment (the good and the bad), myself (not to float my own boat), my history as a neurodivergent person, tips for neurodivergent people, and my experiences having ADHD and Autism. I’ll share my day-to-day life in and out of work.

My aim is to help those who are going through similar situations to what I have experienced and inspire them.

So where do I begin? I was diagnosed with ADHD at the age of 4 and was put on medication to help support my symptoms. After getting kicked out of school for bad behaviour I attended a school for misbehaved kids, where the headteacher noticed that I wasn’t misbehaved but just needed help and was diagnosed with High Functioning Autism at the age of 7. From there, I went to Stone Hill School, a school that supports neurodiverse students.

After leaving Stone Hill School, I attended Doncaster College (The Hub) to complete Life Skills Levels 1, 2, and 3, where I learned how to edit videos and other sorts of media. I then pursued a media course and got a job at 24IT, where I fixed and built computers.

I then moved into supported living at the age of 18 where I started to learn more about living on my own and received one-to-one support to help with my independence.

I eventually left the media course (I found it boring and hadn’t done any video editing after being on the course for over six months) after being offered a full-time job with 24IT. After that, I went on to work for Doncaster Council doing video and photo editing (YYYAAAYYY).

After getting into an abusive and negative relationship, I ended up losing my job with the council, and my behavior towards others went downhill. After realizing the relationship was no good and was causing problems in my life, I left and got a job in town at Mambos, making drinks and collecting glasses for 3 years.

Since leaving Mambos, I moved out of supported living and into an apartment where I still get one-to-one support. I’ve got an amazing and loving partner (Tyler) who I’ve been with for the past 2 years now, I worked at the Hub in Auckley for a few months and now work for Stride and couldn’t be happier.